The Coincidental Starter

In my working life at Wren Autolectrics, I repair starters & alternators amongst other things, so when someone rang me today to ask if I could repair a starter motor from an Isuzu engine fitted in a boat it was nothing unusual. Nor was it unusual that they said they had been recommended to contact me by Cotswold Diesel Services and when I met the guy it transpired it was the starter from his father’s narrowboat.

Out of interest I asked where it was moored, expecting somewhere local, he replied Pewsey, where we were last weekend! It seems that as it as it was an Isuzu engine the nearest dealer was Roger at Cotswold Diesel Services, 60 miles away, he didn’t have a starter in stock so he recommended me, the owner’s son (who’s from Marlborough, where we lived when we were first married) was working in Stroud today and I was able to repair the starter this afternoon. A good result all round.

Small world innit :)

This entry was posted in Narrowboating. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

